The Raw Feed
Where technology and culture collide

Monday, March 31, 2008

Obama Site Hacked, Defaced? Or Hoax?

Barack Obama's hope.net site was HACKED AND DEFACED by someone who wrote "spread the word! Barack Obama has no security on his web site! Will his administration have no security?" [UPDATE 3:36 PM 3/31/2008: At the time of this posting "www.hope.net" still has the defacement, but "hope.net" does not. Is this a hoax? The red writing looks neat and tidy and without mispellings....

Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Who owns the domain?

Monday, March 31, 2008 3:46:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Heh. Whoever hacked it must have only gotten www.hope.net... or else obama's IT people (such as they are) already took control of hope.net back.

Monday, March 31, 2008 3:50:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Nice font. Which one is it. I want that, too. (not handwriting.)

Monday, March 31, 2008 4:00:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

um, check the whois database... it doesn't seem that hope.net is actually official. barackobama.com on the other hand, has official campaign contact info. hoax.

Monday, March 31, 2008 4:10:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I wonder if the changed whois has anything to do with how they hacked the site.

Monday, March 31, 2008 4:20:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

the links point to Hilary's website. what a dirty supporter.

Monday, March 31, 2008 4:25:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

It's a hoax. It's owned by the hacker group H.O.P.E. See www.archive.org and look up their old webpages.

Monday, March 31, 2008 9:38:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

This is the same site that's in his newest ads though. I think it's funny that it got hacked so quickly. Guess the dems don't have anything better to do than hack each others websites.

Monday, March 31, 2008 10:38:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

it's a hackers website, hope.net.. how sad for them that they have to fake hack their own site....

rediculous.. and rediculous to whomever published this article without doing proper research.

Monday, March 31, 2008 11:30:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hoax. Barack doesn't own the hope.net domain. Here's the whois lookup:

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Burton, Bill eq2g65yj3sb@networksolutionsprivateregistration.com
ATTN: HOPE.NET
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA 20172-0447
570-708-8780

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 4:29:00 AM  
Blogger Bruce said...

Even if they did hack their own site, April fool's day is the right day to execute such a hoax. Either way, it's pretty funny!

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 4:41:00 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Dirty Clinton supporter? How about dirty Obama supporter? Ever notice how many "bad things" have been happening to martyr Obama on this blog? Ever notice the free advertising space Clinton gets from stories like these? Or McCain? No wonder Obama gets more support in cyberspace, welcome to viral marketing...

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 5:34:00 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Dirty politics, as usual. Even though the politicians don't have anything to do with this, it just goes to show the mentality of those who support these candidates. If you want bigger government, less security, and bigger taxes…go ahead and vote democratic. I prefer to make my donations to the needy on my own, and not through a wasteful and ineffective process. (Tax me, send $ to government, pay IRS to calculate if I paid enough, waste money figuring out whom to help, send my $ to needy) or (Let me keep my money so I can give more at church, and inject $ into the economy)

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 6:37:00 AM  
Blogger Tim said...

Funny enough it uses phalse.2600.com as it nameserver....

Happy April 1st everyone....

gunna have to say big HOAX on this one

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 10:26:00 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

It' April Fools Day. Duh.

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 10:43:00 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

oh man, they're good. HOPE started the hacks as of the 27th. Google's cache of their last page was on the 26th:

cached



Then, someone posed an innocent question to all the political groups to try to spread disinformation here:
post

And also, more disinformation here:

post


Notice this guy even registered the Obama e-mail address
barackobama.campaign@gmail.com here:
profile



And he posted a ton of disinformation to spread the hope.net link.

Tuesday, April 01, 2008 4:36:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

2600 Magazine's Off the Hook radio show on WBAI in New York (streaming online as well, find it yourself) just announced that it was indeed an April Fool's Joke which began when April Fool's Day started in New Zealand (which is 18 hours ahead of EDT.) They've had hope.net for a very long time.

The only thing that was 'hacked' was the mindless masses.

The major parties (Dem/Repub) should be boycotted anyways. They've been in power too long. Real progress won't come from old regimes.

Wednesday, April 02, 2008 5:36:00 PM  
Blogger Prairiefyre said...

Gotta love Emmanuel Goldstein and the 2600 guys. They do an April Fools Day prank hack every year. You can hear them discuss this one on their WBAI show, Off the Hook, here: http://archive.wbai.org/files/mp3/080402_190001oth.MP3

Thursday, April 03, 2008 6:04:00 AM  
Blogger MavericK607 said...

Does this surprise you, Hillary is probably next.

Bryan
http://www.easywindowshelp.com

Saturday, April 12, 2008 5:14:00 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home